Greater Essex County District School Board

Visit Website Overview Map District List

Greater Essex County District School Board is located in Windsor Ontario approximately 3.5 hours southwest of Toronto, Ontario. We have schools in nine municipalities: Windsor, LaSalle, Amherstburg, Tecumseh, Lakeshore, Essex, Kingsville, Leamington and Pelee Island.

Our community is the third most diverse city in Canada. In our schools you will see many different nations represented.

Our secondary school program is available for students from 14-18 years of age. Students will graduate upon completion of grade 12 with an Ontario Secondary School Diploma.

We currently have a small population of international students in our schools and they are from a variety of different countries. We have an exceptional English as a Second Language program for students who are not yet proficient in the English language. Muskoka Languages International is our homestay provider and is very thorough in their selection of host families. We know you will be immersed in Canadian culture and be treated as one of the family.

We have beautiful park land and green space in our communities. Our population in Windsor is approximately 210,890 and if you include surrounding Essex County communities we have a population of approximately 400,000. The GECDSB is committed to the democratic values of fairness, equity, inclusion, and respect for all being reflected in all of its policies, programs, and practices. The GECDSB understands that greater equity means greater student success.